just found out i am pregnant

Home Forums Pregnancy, Mums2Be, Birth, New Parents just found out i am pregnant

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    fairies

i just had my pregnancy confirmed yesterday evening. I am thinking about going to OLOL Drogheda as we now live in ratoath and Holles street is a bit of a treck.

I went to holles street semi private and really liked it , I was thinking of going private this time but my husband thinks it is a bit of a waste of money as both other pregnancy have been done semi private but I was told by the doctor that you can only do public or going privately to a consultant .

Sorry i know noone who has gone to drogheda so feeling a bit confused .

kcireland

Congratulations Fairies!
    I am no expert on OLOL .. but I know there are a few on here!
    Try to contact AIMS IRELAND or JENE.
    Also the Babysteps classes are conducted by a midwife at OLOL. She may be able to help.
    Good luck!

Yvonne

Congratulations Fairies! When are you due?
    I attended OLOL 3 1/2 years ago when I had DD – I went private, attending Dr. Milner’s clinic – and I couldn’t recommend her highly enough! My friend attend the MLU, Midwife Led Unit (you are public, but its like private care I think…) and found that great – its an option I would consider next time.
    Best of Luck!

rossylisa

congratulations 😀

Taylor5

Oh congrats
    Yes its either public or private in drogheda, but the public isnt like going public in the city. A public ward in Drog has 4 or 6 beds as dublin some hospitals have 12 to 14 beds or more if busy.
    I went public in Drogheda 2.5 years ago and couldnt recommened them highly enought, as Yvonne said the MLU is fantastic, they even have birthing pools in your room, its a public system but you stay in the room you give birth in, so its more like private conditions
    HTH

fairies

the mlu sounds great, do i ring the hospital to get but on that .