Infant bowel movement

Home Forums Introduce Yourself Infant bowel movement

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    mum220713

Hi all I’m new to this this website just wondering if anyone has any experience or advice about breastfeed baby not having a poo for a long time he normally goes once every 5 days but it has been a week now and I’m really worried

Jedt
    Keymaster

This is actually quite common so don’t worry too much just yet. 🙂

This has happened to all my babies, my son once went 9 days without going to the loo and I was frantic but our PHN and some mums at a local BF group told me not to worry as this happens to alot of babies. Knowing it happened to so many of them, made me relax a bit.

How is your baby? Is there any hardness in the abdomen? is he crying alot? If he is not distressed, I would not worry too much just yet.

You can do a few things to help it along (so to speak)
    Massage – do some downward strokes of massage on the baby’s tummy area. Always go clockwise with your movements as this moves things in the right direction. if you go anti clockwise, you’ll be pushing things the wrong way. Google the ‘I Love You’ massage, this is a good one.

Leg movements – Lie baby flat on his back and gently push his knees up to his chest. Push in and out gently for a few minutes. This can help his bowel move along

Warm water – Giving him sips of warm water can help baby go to the loo as well. Some people say add brown sugar but I think just the warm water should do the trick.

PHN – If you are still worried in a day or two, go along to your local health centre and speak to a public health nurse, they are there to help for things like this.

Pharmacist – a pharmacist is a good person to talk to as well. Boots have experts in all their pharmacies who can offer advice.

GP – If it does not settle by day 10, then maybe make an appt with your GP about it. But hopefully, all will be grand by then.