Home Birth

Home Forums ASK THE EXPERT Pregnancy & Birth Home Birth

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    sonodo

Hi everyone, I’m new to Mumstown and was looking for some info on Home birth in Ireland. I had my Son now 16 mths in Australia in a midwife lead unit and found it fantastic but am terrified of having a child here cause of all the story’s I’m hearing about hospitals. Can some one please help on any info on home birth in Limerick if its even possible..
    Thanks Sinead :|

Jedt
    Keymaster

Hi Sinead,

Welcome to Mumstown (and to Ireland!)

Having a home birth in Ireland is quite easy actually. Here is what to do:

Go to your GP and confirm your pregnancy as early as you can and tell him/her of your preference for a home birth.

Contact the Home Birth Association of Ireland to see a list of homebirth midwives near you. Make some calls and book your midwife. She will probably set your first appt for around week 16.

In the meantime, immediately after your GP confirms your pregnancy, make your booking appt with the hospital for as early as possible, around 12-13 weeks if you can. At that appt. ask for a copy of your notes to take home. (It is important to get this appointment early in your pregnancy because you will be weighed and your BMI calculated and this needs to be healthy for you to qualify for a home birth, so get this done before your bump really starts to grow, while your weight is around the same as at the start of your pregnancy).

Call the HSE and tell them about your plan for a home birth and ask for a home birth grant application form. When you get this, fill it in and when your midwife comes, she will need to sign it. Then send it back and wait for a letter confirming you have been approved. This only takes a few weeks and is quite straightforward, your midwife can help you with it if necessary.