doctor on call

Home Forums Louth Chat doctor on call

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    noeleenw

major rant alert here … ds was with the doc on thursday of the week before last was out on distaclor antibiotic for a chest infection but last monday evening his temperature went crazy up to 39.9 :shock: took 2 hours to get it down with paralink and nurofen he also had one of these horrible rashes that doesnt go away rang doc and went in at 12 .15 am anyway a lady doctor examined him and said it was a reaction to the antibiotic but to finish out the course :shock: she gave him an antihistamine and said it was a viral infection – now i am no doctor but antibiotics dont work on a virus- anyway paid 60 euro … temp went crazy again during the night so brought him to gp who said stop that antibiotic and also that he had an ear infection which the doc didnt cop :twisted: he put him on a different stronger antibiotic and it took 2 days to regulate his temp …. it is just hit and miss with the doctor on call as i found out

i never go to doc on call with DD she was rushed into to A & E because of one of them. she had a chesty cough for 2 days with high temp i brought her to the doc on call he told me she would fight it her self she was ok for about an hour when we got home. then she couldn’t breathe and was limp i had to ring 999 and get ambulance her tonsils were swelled so much she couldn’t get air out or in. she s ok now that was around a year ago.

Yvonne

Noeleen thats terrible! I have sometimes rang doc on call for advice, not needing to go in, just wanted some guidance…. and the attitude of some of the doctors… I hung up on them twice…. you think they would be glad that I didn’t want to go in…

Also, you shouldn’t have paid full price to them if you were only at your own doctor… we had A at our gp on a Wednesday, doc on call on Friday and we had to pay €30… (usually less if you were with your own doc within 7 days…)

Taylor5

c

Taylor5