creche fees over christmas

Home Forums Louth Chat creche fees over christmas

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Elliemae

I’ve just been told by my dd creche that I still have to pay over xmas even though they will be closed!! €100! I work in retail so I’ll be working all that week with jan sales etc. so that means I’m going to have to pay someone to look after her, as well as paying fees!

yummymummy

yep this is the norm!!!!! creche staff are entitled to paid holidays just as u are. might not be fair (and i do understand ur plight as i had to do it for 3 years) but such is life im afraid….it also should of been in t&c’s of ur contract

Fabienne

the rate for paid holidays is about 8%,
    so check if the creche is closed and pay for, for more or less than 8% / year

But at the end, there is staff to pay, so either you pay when they’re closed or they charge more the rest of the time, overall it’s the same.
    Even if I understand it’s difficult to have to pay twice for childcare because it’s Xmas break.

Fabienne

Taylor5

I have to pay when ds’s playschool is closed this xmas….. oh no wait i dont think I have to pay, but had to pay over Halloween….. Oh will find out tomorrow, only took over 300 euro out for the month. Will be down to the sale night tomorrow if i dont have to pay

munchin
    Participant

as yummy says this is the norm with most creches – BUT most creches will tell you this when you’re signing up, i know ours did. The idea is you pay the same amount per month over the year. If they didn’t tell you this in the begining or it’s not in your contract i’d argue but i’d be surprised if it’s not in there somewhere, sorry not what you want to hear 😥
    The first year in ours they were closed, last yr & this yr they have sent out forms to see what demand is and have a skeleton staff on.

Taylor5